Fellowship Technologies, shame on you

You know me well enough now to understand that I’m pretty well-balanced. I don’t like to always operate in the negative, but I’m not at all ashamed to point it out when I see it.

Last week, I received a moderation e-mail from our church blog. Nothing seemed unusual at first glance since I receive so many of these on a regular basis. What was surprising was the contents of the message and most notably who’s IP address it came from.

A new comment on the post #185 "Vacation Bible School" is waiting for your approval
http://www.fbcbelton.org/2008/06/vacation-bible-school/

Author : Barb Jones (IP: 208.36.200.226 , mail.fellowshiptech.com)
E-mail : bjones@gmail.com
URL :
Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=208.36.200.226
Comment:
Why can I not register for VBS online? Let's get with the times!

There is so much about this comment that causes curiosity. I don’t believe that the IP address was forged – it looks like it did in fact come from a computer owned by Fellowship Technologies, makers of the ChMS product Fellowship One. I’m left with three questions that I want answers to:

  1. Why would a company that we don’t have a relationship with post a comment that, in effect, demeans our church and the way we do ministry?
  2. Is online registration the only way to share the life-saving message of Jesus Christ? We evaluated it extensively and we have a platform that is capable of handling the registrations, but we decided that this was not the year to do it.
  3. Is Barb Jones on a personal crusade or is this a common corporate practice of Fellowship Technologies? Is Barb Jones a real person?

I’m hoping that Jeff Hook, president of Fellowship, will weigh in on this post. I know he reads my blog, and he’s even commented here before.

Related posts



3 Responses to “Fellowship Technologies, shame on you”

  1. josh says:

    OH MY! We use Fellowship One and I’ve recieved a comment or two everytime I talk about there software (good or Bad) they need to learn there distance, i’m with you on this!

  2. Jeff Hook says:

    Matt,

    I apologize for the comment that evidently appeared on your church blog that appears to have been posted by an employee of Fellowship Technologies. Is that correct? Your blog or the church blog? I have not seen the entry so I am not 100% clear on what you are referring to, but I’d like to understand as much as possible to be able to handle it appropriately.

    From what I have garnered though, it appears that an over-zealous employee took it upon herself to make a comment that is simply inappropriate and does not reflect who we are and what we stand for. Please forgive us corporately, and her individually. For your information, to answer your third question, we do not have a Barb Jones working for us, so it is definitely a pseudonym of some sort.

    As a company, we support the Kingdom work of all churches, not just those using Fellowship One. Since it was an individual’s comment and not what we believe corporately, I cannot answer question #1. I do not know the person’s motives. However, I pray that it was not someone who truly wanted to harm your efforts.

    As for the second question, of course there are many criteria that determine what ways a church supports its congregation and carries forth the message of salvation; self-service technology capabilities is just one way used by churches to support that its strategy. Each church knows what its own congregation appreciates better than some third party such as a software vendor. It is my personal opinion that we are simply here to support the work you do for the Kingdom. We are an enabler, you are doing the heavy lifting of helping people live fuller lives through Jesus Christ.

    Again, please accept my humble apology. I will do what I can to ensure that it never happens again.

    Grace to you,

    jhook

  3. Alexwebmaster says:

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

Leave a Reply